John Berkey is most well known as a science fiction artist, specifically for his paintings of huge graceful spaceships of multi-faceted shapes adorned with many intricate details, soaring through outer space. In the nineteen sixties, John was commissioned to do illustrations of the astronauts involved with NASA and the space program as part of their efforts to go beyond the earths atmosphere and eventually to the moon. In 1972 , John caught the attention of science fiction fans the world over with a series of dazzling paintings for Ballantine Books’ STAR WARS.

About aritter2014

I am a Librarian. To be honest, I wouldn't want to do anything else. I have a strong interest in architecture, computer technology, English literature, film studies and modern art. I would like to use this page to express my personal musings and experiences on news, pop culture, nature, art, science, technology and what ever becomes a curiosity.

Leave a comment