Today marks the 25th anniversary of Spike Lee’s (1989) Do The Right Thing.
Thinking about this ground-breaking film reminded me of the recent passing
of the great Ruby Dee 1922-2014.

4413362970_a4ed0234d7_o

Do The Right Thing 1989

MOTHER SISTER: Good morning, Mookie.

MOOKIE : Good morning to you.

MOTHER SISTER: Now, Mookie, don’t work too hard
today. The man said it’s gonna be HOT as the devil.
I don’t want ya  falling out from the heat.
You hear me, son?

MOOKIE : I hear ya, Mother Sister. I hear you.

MOTHER SISTER : Good. I’ll be watching ya, son.
Mother Sister always watches.

About aritter2014

I am a Librarian. To be honest, I wouldn't want to do anything else. I have a strong background in architecture, computer technology, English literature, Internet applications, web site design, film studies and modern art. I would like to use this page to express my personal musings and experiences on news, pop culture, nature, art, science, technology and what ever becomes a curiosity.

Leave a Reply

